timing, oh such perfect timing

 

you know those moments, those perfectly timed events, happenings. well sometimes I think I must be blessed with an abundance of those special moments.

one happened to me just before christmas. you see, there’s this book that i saw on my mums bookshelf when i was a child. the title always intrigued me but i always thought it looked to grown up for me, plus it looked like such a special and old book that i didnt want to break it. Even once i grew up into a good little bookworm, it never seemed the right time to read this book. Then one day, on my first ever trip to tasmania I was visiting some friends i hadnt seen in a very long time, and we went into town and to a bookshop. now i cant remember the name of the shop, but I did love it. a comprehensive shop that integrated a fantastic range of christian books with general books, there really aren’t many stores that do it so well. anywho, so i saw this book on the shelf in this super awesome book store (in Ulverstone by the way, in case you want to visit it 😛 ) and knew that my friends would absolutely love it, despite the fact that i hadn’t read it at this point. When i got back to their house, i passed their bookshelf and saw they had 3 copies of said book. oops! should have checked before i bought it! or maybe not. you see, I think the Lords timing is perfect and incredible. He wanted me to buy this book and knew that this was the perfect time for me to read it. so now that i had said book, and it wouldn’t make a great gift for people who have 3 copies of it, i decided to read it.

‘Hinds Feet on High Places” by Hannah Hurnard

this incredible book. well it gave me new perspectives and changed how i look and do a lot of things. read it. christian or no, this book is incredible. It is about the human struggle, how we cope with everything life throws at us, and how God is at the center of everything. the two biggest lessons that resonated with me are ‘Acceptance-with-Joy’ and ‘Bearing-the-cost.’ You see, everything that happens to use, good or bad should be accepted with joy. good things should be joyful because they are good, but we should also be joyful when the not so good things happen to us. You see, it is only through adversity and hardship that we can truly and honestly appreciate the good things. ‘Rejoice always’ 1 Thessalonians 5:16,

Romans 12:12 ‘be joyful in hope, patient in affliction and faithful in prayer.’
Bearing the cost, is akin to forgiveness. when things happen to us, we should holdfast, be patient and faithful. bear the pain with forgiveness to whomever/whatever caused the pain, to continue to love no matter what.

 

In my life, such a privileged life, an incredible loving family, a wonderful husband, a joyful life. I have always had health problems, my whole life, as a child and teenager, I never understood it, why I was always so sick. Im not sure I do now either, but I have known for a long time that it is only through my retreating health that I am the person I am today, and that God will do incredible things through my illnesses.

 

My mum recently posted me the second book, ‘The Mountains of Spices.’ Hannah Hurnard is such an intensely amazing author. I haven’t finished reading it yet, but already one things has resonated with me so very much.

Somewhere in the 2nd 3rd of the book (i tried to find it again but no luck right now), she quotes Hebrews 4:16 “Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.”
I feel that right now, is again one of my times of need. He delivered this book to me in my time of need. Books are often a great way for God to talk to me, you see because I am a bookworm. I resonate with novels. I love that ” 
in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.” Romans 8:28

This is one of my favourite poems / songs from the book.

IMG_3314

 

***********************

In acceptance lieth peace,
O my heart be still;
Let thy restless worries cease
And accept his will.
Though this test be not thy choice,
It is his — therefore rejoice.
In his plan there cannot be
Aught to make thee sad:
If this is his choice for thee,
Take it and be glad.
Make from it some lovely thin
To the glory of thy King.
Cease from sighs and murmuring,
Sing his loving grace,
This thing means thy furthering
To a wealthy place.
From thy fears he’ll give release,
In acceptance lieth peace

 

********************************

This poem is very calming, it makes me glad, helps me know to and understand that even when I am hurting or suffering God loves me and I should rejoice because he is giving me a way of showing his love to others when i am in pain. People often see God in good things, but don’t see him in the bad things, sometimes I am given the opportunity to share his love when people will see it the least. its hard, but i love it.

 

Have you ever had one of these perfectly timed moments? Have you read this book? or another like it? tell me about them.

 

Leave a Reply

